top of page

Gas Strut Window Comparison: Optvue vs ActivWall, Gravity, Western, AGA & Kolbe

Pass-through window brands compared side by side, using each company's own published information. Last checked October 22, 2026.

 

 

A gas strut window, also known as a pass-through window, is a top-hinged window that swings up and out on gas struts and holds open like a canopy over a kitchen counter, bar or serving window. Several companies build them, and they differ a lot in size, operation, sills, screens, finishes, design tools and the terms they actually publish. This page puts six of them side by side so you can see the differences before you buy.

 

We are Optvue, a gas strut window manufacturer in Oceanside, California, so we have a point of view. To keep this fair, every competitor fact below comes from that company's own public website, and every one has a source link next to it so you can click through and read what that company's page says for yourself. The full research log at the end of this page lists every page we read, when we read it, how we found it, what we took from it, and a dated Wayback Machine archive copy where one exists. Where another brand publishes something we do not, we say so.

 

 

How we compared

 

  • Brands compared: Optvue, ActivWall, Gravity Windows, Western Architectural Openings (formerly Western Window Systems), AGA Doors and Kolbe Windows & Doors.

  • Products compared: each brand's top-hinged gas strut / pass-through window, plus motorized versions where offered.

  • Information source: the companies' own websites, product pages, PDFs and published policies only. No third-party reviews, no guesses.

  • Date collected: October 22, 2026, between 5:13 pm and 5:30 pm Pacific time.

  • Published means a buyer can read it on the company's website. Limited means only part of it is published. Claimed only means the website states it, but we found no published terms or document behind it. Not found means we searched the company's website and could not find it.

  • Specifications change. If any company updates its website, the latest information on their site governs.

 

See something we got wrong? If you have information that disagrees with anything on this page, send it to info@optvue.com. Tell us what this page says, what you believe is correct, and a link to your source. We review every submission and correct this page promptly when a published source shows we are wrong.

 

 

The short version

 

Here is where Optvue's published offering goes beyond the other five brands:

 

  • Size: gas strut windows up to 16' wide x 8' high (65 sq ft), motorized up to 72 sq ft, and XL - XS motorized windows and doors up to 20' x 10'. The largest published competitor size is 10' wide.

  • Three ways to operate: manual gas strut, motorized and pivot. Only Optvue publishes all three, and only Optvue publishes a pivot window.

  • 8 sill types: from a true flush countertop with no sill to a full bound sill.

  • Concealed, surface-mount and motorized screens, plus motorized shades: motorized screens and shades up to 20' wide. No other brand offers a motorized screen or shade as a product option for its gas strut window (AGA's screen installation guide describes a motorized roller blind, but its product pages list a manual screen).

  • Split finish: 14 standard powder-coat colors, with a different color inside and outside, or a custom color.

  • LiveVue™ Window Designer: design your window live, get an instant quote, and generate your own shop drawings at will. No other brand publishes a tool that lets customers or dealers create their own shop drawings.

  • Published terms, not just claims: warranty, care guide, shipping and receiving instructions, sales agreement, installation instructions, technical drawings and glass guide are all published on optvue.com.

 

 

Compare by what matters to you

 

Check the features you care about and enter your window size. Brands that do not publish that feature, or whose published maximum size is smaller than your window, drop out of the list.

 

 

Window size: maximums and standard sizes

 

Size is the first thing to check. If a brand's published maximum is smaller than your opening, you would need mullions, multiple units or a different product.

 

 

Published maximum sizes

 

 

 

Published standard sizes

 

Standard sizes are built to a set list, so they are faster to quote and build. Custom sizes are still available from most brands.

 

 

 

Operation: gas strut, motorized and pivot

 

How the window opens matters for reach, safety and very large sizes.

 

 

Manual gas strut

 

All six brands publish a manual gas strut window. The struts carry the weight of the sash so it lifts with one hand and holds open. Optvue's gas strut windows open to 90°, can be operated from inside or outside, and use commercial-grade struts that are factory installed and tuned, rated for 30,000 open/close cycles, with replacement struts available.

 

 

Motorized operation

 

Motorized operation lifts the sash with concealed electric actuators, so there is no reaching or pulling, which also makes it an excellent solution for people with limited reach or mobility.

 

 

 

Pivot operation

 

A pivot window moves the hinge point down from the top of the window, so the sash articulates partly inside and partly outside. That limits how far it projects outside, makes it easier to reach, and suits specialty openings and architectural statements. Optvue offers it as a Pivot Gas Strut Window and a Pivot Motorized Window. None of the other five brands publishes a pivot window.

 

 

Sills and countertops: 8 Optvue sill types

 

The sill decides how the window meets your countertop and how well it handles water. Optvue publishes eight sill types:

 

  1. No sill, flush countertop

  2. Drainage channel, flush countertop

  3. Step sill, step countertop by others

  4. Full bound sill

  5. Hybrid sill

  6. Minimal sill

  7. No sill, thermal flush countertop

  8. Step sill, thermal step countertop by others

 

No-sill and drainage-channel installations are best under cover, and Optvue reviews water exposure with you before ordering. What the other brands publish:

 

 

 

Screens and shades

 

Optvue publishes the widest range of screens and shades for a gas strut window:

 

  • Surface mount roll-down screen, up to 90" wide

  • Concealed roll-down screen, built into the head jamb, up to 120" wide

  • Premium manual surface mount or concealed roll-down screen, up to 144" wide

  • Surface mount or concealed motorized screen, up to 20' wide

  • Motorized shade, up to 20' wide

  • Pleated side-to-side screen (with a full bound sill)

 

What the other brands publish:

 

 

 

Colors, split finish and wood interiors

 

Optvue offers 14 standard powder-coat colors: Bright White, Sea Shell, Bone White, Cream, Oyster White, Brown Grey, All Taupe, Starburst Silver, Dusty Grey, Tarpaulin Grey, Iron Grey, Dark Bronze, Classic Bronze and Beyond Black. You can order a split finish, with one color outside and a different color inside, or a custom color. A real wood interior is also available: a 3/4" hardwood face in Sapele Mahogany, White Oak, Walnut, Vertical Grain Douglas Fir, Hard Maple, Pine or another species, shipped unfinished.

 

  • Optvue: 14 standard powder-coat colors + split + custom; Any of 14 colors inside and another outside, or custom; 3/4" hardwood face: Sapele, White Oak, Walnut, Fir, Maple, Pine and more

  • ActivWall: 3 standard (white, black, dark bronze); color match extra; "Dual-Tone Finishes"; Wood-clad aluminum
    Source: ActivWall gas strut window page

  • Gravity Windows: Tiers shown as images only; count not stated; Wood inside / aluminum outside via clad only; Wood and aluminum-wood clad
    Source: Gravity aluminum awning page · Gravity clad awning page · Gravity wood awning page

  • Western Architectural Openings (formerly Western Window Systems): 2 anodized + 10 designer paint colors + custom; "Split finishes are available in many combinations" (current 7665 data sheet); not found on their website
    Source: Western design options page · Western 7665 data sheet (current, 2026)

  • AGA Doors: 2 (black, white) in the online builder; Not published; not found on their website
    Source: AGA custom gas strut window page

  • Kolbe Windows & Doors: 44 exterior swatches + custom; 10 interior stains; Wood interior / aluminum exterior by design; no two-tone aluminum; Aluminum-clad wood, 12+ species
    Source: Kolbe Ultra gas strut awning page

 

 

Frame and glass

 

Optvue frames and sashes are thermally broken 6063 architectural aluminum. Glass is 1" insulated, argon-filled and tempered or laminated, with Cardinal LoE³-366 over clear standard. LoE²-272, LoE-180, impact glass (impact glazing: low-E laminated with a DuPont SentryGlas® interlayer; a glazing option, the window is not impact-rated), triple glaze for cold climates, and tinted, frosted, textured or privacy glass are available, plus simulated divided lites from 3/4" to 6" wide. Frame types include a 1-1/2" nail flange, retrofit frame and block frame. Factory LED overhead lighting is also available.

 

  • Optvue: 6063 architectural aluminum, thermally broken; Triple glaze for cold climates; Impact glazing: low-E laminated with a DuPont SentryGlas® interlayer (glazing option; window not impact-rated); 1-1/2" nail flange, block frame and retrofit frame; Factory LED overhead lighting with low-voltage wiring plan

  • ActivWall: Thermally broken standard (non-thermal for interior); Not published; Impact-resistant glass (not in Express Series); Nailing flange option; block frame and retrofit frame not published; not found on their website
    Source: ActivWall gas strut window page

  • Gravity Windows: "Thermally enhanced" aluminum; Triple pane available; not found on their website; Frame / installation types not published; not found on their website
    Source: Gravity aluminum awning page · Gravity strut window page

  • Western Architectural Openings (formerly Western Window Systems): FAQ mentions thermally broken aluminum generally; current 7665 data sheet does not state it; Triple-pane option; not found on their website; Nail-fin or equal-leg (block-style) frame; retrofit frame not published; not found on their website
    Source: Western FAQs page · Western 7665 pass-through awning page · Western 7665 data sheet (current, 2026)

  • AGA Doors: Thermal break not published; Not published; Laminated glass option; no impact rating published; Nail fin add-on; default frame screws through its sides; retrofit frame not published; not found on their website
    Source: AGA gas strut spec sheet PDF · AGA custom gas strut window page · AGA 36 x 36 gas strut window page

  • Kolbe Windows & Doors: Wood frame, aluminum-clad exterior; Listed site-wide; product page shows double pane; Not published for this product; Nailing fin for temporary hold only (screw-through-frame install required); block frame and retrofit not published; not found on their website
    Source: Kolbe Ultra gas strut awning page · Kolbe glass page · Kolbe gas strut awning installation PDF

 

 

LiveVue™ Window Designer: design it yourself and generate your own shop drawings

 

This is the biggest difference we found. Every other brand on this page sends you to a quote form, a dealer or a sales rep. Optvue's LiveVue™ Window Designer lets homeowners, designers, contractors and dealers build the exact window themselves, on a phone or computer, at any time:

 

  • Pick the window type, size, sill, glass, color or split finish, screen, hardware, lighting and divided lites, and watch the drawing update live.

  • Options that do not work together are grayed out automatically, so the design stays buildable.

  • Get an instant quote as a PDF.

  • Generate shop drawings at will: shop drawing and components, section and plan views, unit elevation with daylight opening dimensions, reach-height and water-exposure details, and more. Create them as often as you like while you plan.

  • Dealers get their own version with dealer and customer quotes, so they can price and present Optvue windows on the spot.

 

Of the other five brands, only AGA Doors publishes an online builder, and it produces a price, not drawings. ActivWall's customer reviews mention drawings coming from their staff. We found no brand besides Optvue that lets customers or dealers generate their own shop drawings.
Source: AGA custom gas strut window page · ActivWall customer story (Clarksburg, MD) · ActivWall quote page · Gravity quote page · Western quoting registration page · Kolbe virtual showroom

 

 

Published terms vs. claimed terms

 

A warranty, shipping promise or care requirement only protects you if you can read the actual terms. Many websites state a warranty length or say they ship nationwide without publishing the document behind it. Here is what each brand actually publishes for its gas strut window.

 

 

Optvue publishes all of these

 

 

 

Published warranty document

 

  • ActivWall: Published - 10-year residential / 2-year commercial PDFs
    Source: ActivWall 10-year warranty PDF

  • Gravity Windows: Claimed only, no published terms found - No warranty document found; springs "built to lift… for a lifetime"
    Source: Gravity commercial windows page

  • Western Architectural Openings (formerly Western Window Systems): Published - 10-year limited, original owner only
    Source: Western warranty page

  • AGA Doors: Published - 5-year residential policy page (FAQ says 15 years on aluminum)
    Source: AGA warranty page

  • Kolbe Windows & Doors: Published - Express Limited Warranty, 10 years general
    Source: Kolbe warranties page

 

 

Published care & maintenance guide

 

 

 

Published shipping / receiving instructions

 

 

 

Published sales agreement / terms of sale

 

 

 

Installation instructions for this window

 

 

 

Technical / CAD drawings

 

 

 

Published glass guide (allowable imperfections)

 

 

 

Lead time, where it is made, and how to buy

 

 

 

Where the other brands stand out

 

No brand is best at everything. Based on what they publish:

 

 

 

Frequently asked questions

 

 

Which gas strut window brand has the largest size?

 

Based on each company's published maximums, Optvue: gas strut windows up to 16' wide x 8' high (65 sq ft), motorized windows up to 72 sq ft, and XL - XS motorized windows and doors up to 20' x 10'. The largest published size from the other brands compared is 10' wide.

 

 

Which gas strut windows come in standard sizes?

 

Optvue publishes 35 standard sizes (48" to 120" wide, 36" to 60" high) that ship in 4 weeks. ActivWall publishes 9 Express Series sizes, AGA Doors publishes 21 standard sizes and Kolbe publishes 31 size combinations up to 96" x 54". Gravity Windows and Western Architectural Openings publish custom or size-range information only.

 

 

Can I get a motorized pass-through window?

 

Yes. Optvue builds motorized gas strut style windows up to 72 sq ft and XL - XS motorized windows and doors up to 200 sq ft. Gravity Windows also publishes automatic operation. We did not find a motorized version on the ActivWall, Western Architectural Openings, AGA Doors or Kolbe websites.

 

 

Which brands offer a motorized screen for a gas strut window?

 

Optvue offers surface mount or concealed motorized screens and motorized shades up to 20' wide. None of the other five brands lists a motorized screen or shade as a product option. AGA Doors' screen installation guide describes a motorized roller blind, while its product pages list a manual retractable screen.

 

 

What is a pivot gas strut window?

 

A pivot window moves the hinge point down from the top of the window so the sash swings partly inside and partly outside, limiting how far it projects and making it easier to reach. Optvue offers a Pivot Gas Strut Window and a Pivot Motorized Window.

 

 

Can I generate my own shop drawings before I buy?

 

With Optvue, yes. The LiveVue Window Designer lets homeowners, contractors and dealers design the window, get an instant quote and generate shop drawings at will. We did not find another brand that publishes a way to generate your own shop drawings.

 

 

Which brands publish their warranty and other terms?

 

Optvue publishes its Limited Warranty, care guide, shipping and receiving instructions, sales agreement, installation instructions and technical drawings. ActivWall, Western Architectural Openings, AGA Doors and Kolbe publish warranty documents; we found no warranty document on the Gravity Windows website.

 

 

Does Optvue offer impact glass?

 

Yes. Optvue offers impact glass (impact glazing): low-E glass laminated with a DuPont SentryGlas interlayer, for gas strut, motorized and pivot windows. It is a glazing option; the window itself is not impact-rated.

 

 

Can I get a different color inside and outside?

 

Optvue offers a split finish in any of 14 standard colors or a custom color. ActivWall publishes dual-tone finishes, and Western Architectural Openings' current 7665 data sheet says split finishes are available. Gravity Windows and Kolbe offer a wood interior with an aluminum exterior through their clad products.

 

 

Report a correction

 

We want this comparison to be accurate. If you are a homeowner, dealer, or one of the companies named here and you have information that disagrees with our findings, email info@optvue.com with:

 

  • The brand and the item on this page you believe is wrong

  • What you believe is correct

  • A link to the published source (a company web page, PDF or document) that shows it

  • Your name and how to reach you, if you would like a reply

 

Every submission is reviewed against the source you provide. When a published source shows our information is wrong or out of date, we correct this page promptly and update the date at the top.

 

 

Full research notes

 

Everything we recorded about each competitor's gas strut / pass-through window, with a link to the page each item came from. Quotes are short excerpts from the company's own website.

 

 

ActivWall: research notes

 

  • Product: "ActivWall Gas Strut Window" in three lines: Custom, Express Series and Ready to Ship. Struts described as commercial-grade and concealed.
    Source: ActivWall gas strut window page

  • Operation: manual gas strut. Out-swing by default; "can be made as in-swing units". Opens "up to a 90-degree opening". A site search for motorized, electric and actuator found no motorized pass-through window.
    Source: ActivWall gas strut window page · ActivWall Express Series page

  • Maximum size: up to 8' wide the maximum height is 5'; up to 10' wide the maximum height is 4'. Larger with mullions or multiple units. Minimum size, maximum square feet and maximum glass size not published.
    Source: ActivWall gas strut window page

  • Express Series sizes (W x H): 48x48, 60x42, 60x48, 72x42, 72x48, 72x60, 84x48, 84x60, 96x48. The main gas strut page lists 7 of these (not 84x48 or 84x60). For units with a sill, add 2-1/8" to the nominal height.
    Source: ActivWall Express Series page · ActivWall gas strut window page

  • Ready-to-ship stock seen: 95.5" x 38.75" (raised sill, Umbra Grey); in assembly 60" x 66.5" and 60" x 59.5". Discounted, no prices shown. Note: 66.5" is taller than the published 5' maximum.
    Source: ActivWall ready-to-ship page

  • Frames: thermally broken aluminum (standard), wood-clad aluminum (snap-in wood, painted or stained), and non-thermally-broken aluminum for interior use only.
    Source: ActivWall gas strut window page · ActivWall products page

  • Glass: insulated dual-pane low-E argon standard; single pane for interior use. Options: tinted, frosted, textured, printed, bird-resistant, turtle-safe, impact-resistant, SDL and GBG grids. Express: tempered SolarBan 60 low-E argon; coastal finish and impact glass not offered in Express. Triple pane not published.
    Source: ActivWall gas strut window page · ActivWall Express Series page

  • Sills: raised saddle sill (air and water rated, out-swing only), saddle sill, flush sill ("less air and water protection"), no-sill (interior or covered porch); the products page adds U-channel and low profile (interior only).
    Source: ActivWall gas strut window page · ActivWall products page

  • Screens: retractable screens from a third-party manufacturer, pull-down or pull-over. Hardware included (one centered handle inside and out; dual handles optional). Options: pull hooks, kick stand, nailing flange, keyed custodial locks, transoms, side lites, mullions. Shades and LED lighting not published.
    Source: ActivWall gas strut window page

  • Colors: 3 standard (white, black, dark bronze) at no extra charge; color match for an additional fee; wood-grain powder coat, coastal/poolside finish, anodized and wood-clad options. Dual-tone finishes (different inside and outside) published.
    Source: ActivWall gas strut window page · ActivWall Express Series page · ActivWall products page

  • Performance: impact claim "passed ASTM E1886 & E1996" and "Wind Zone 3 and DP 60", stated for gas strut windows and folding units together, no test report or configuration given. NFRC, U-factor, HVHZ and NOA not published. Test reports "available upon request" appears in the AL62 folding-wall PDF, not the gas strut window.
    Source: ActivWall gas strut window page · ActivWall AL62 product data PDF

  • Warranty: residential 10-year PDF (10 years on motion and locking hardware and glass, 2 years other components, labor 2 years; written notice within 30 days; excludes accidental glass breakage). Commercial 2-year PDF (2 years hardware and glass, 1 year other, 1 year labor).
    Source: ActivWall 10-year warranty PDF · ActivWall 2-year warranty PDF

  • Documents: care, installation and product data documents found are for the AL62 folding wall, plus a general coastal care PDF; none written for the gas strut window. Only drawing found: Express sill cross-section PDF. Sales terms, glass guide and FAQ not found.
    Source: ActivWall resources page · ActivWall coastal & poolside PDF · ActivWall AL62 product data PDF · ActivWall Express sill section PDF

  • Lead time: Express "as little as four to seven weeks"; custom not published. Made in Martinsville, Virginia ("100% American designed and manufactured"), founded 2011. "We ship nationwide" with no shipping terms found. Pricing not published.
    Source: ActivWall Express Series page · ActivWall about page

  • How to buy: quote form asking for rough opening; nationwide dealer network, direct shipping if no local dealer. Dealer list covers about 20 states. No online configurator. A customer story says pricing and drawings came from ActivWall staff.
    Source: ActivWall quote page · ActivWall find-a-dealer page · ActivWall customer story (Clarksburg, MD)

 

 

Gravity Windows: research notes

 

 

 

Western Architectural Openings (formerly Western Window Systems): research notes

 

 

 

AGA Doors: research notes

 

 

 

Kolbe Windows & Doors: research notes

 

  • Product: Ultra Series Gas Strut Awning, announced July 6, 2026, Kolbe's only top-hinged swing-up pass-through window. Opens "outward to nearly 90 degrees" on integrated gas struts. Motorized operation not published. Kolbe's other pass-through windows are sliding and folding types.
    Source: Kolbe Ultra gas strut awning page · Kolbe gas strut press release (July 6, 2026) · Kolbe pass-through windows page

  • Size: up to 96" wide and up to 54" high ("dependent upon weight"), up to 29.25 sq ft. A July 2026 update page adds a size table of 31 combinations: widths 48" to 96" in 6" steps, heights 36", 42", 48" and 54"; 84" wide stops at 48" high and 90" and 96" wide stop at 42" high. (Table read by machine from an image on Kolbe's page.)
    Source: Kolbe Ultra gas strut awning page · Kolbe July 2026 "New Gas Strut Awning" update

  • Frame: wood interior (pine unless another species is chosen: maple, knotty alder, vertical grain fir, Spanish cedar, cherry, alder, mixed grain fir, oak, white oak, mahogany, sapele, walnut) with an extruded aluminum exterior. Thermal break not published for Ultra.
    Source: Kolbe Ultra gas strut awning page

  • Glass: product page shows double pane only and says not all glass is available on all products. Triple pane, tempered, laminated and impact glass are listed site-wide but not confirmed for this product.
    Source: Kolbe Ultra gas strut awning page · Kolbe glass page

  • Sill: "available with or without a sill"; no countertop option published. Hardware: interior multipoint lock handle in four finishes; optional matte black exterior handle. Screens: a bronze screen swatch only, type not stated. Shades and LED lighting not published.
    Source: Kolbe gas strut press release (July 6, 2026) · Kolbe pass-through windows page · Kolbe Ultra gas strut awning page

  • Colors: 44 exterior swatches plus custom on the product page; the Ultra Series page claims over 50 standard colors or finishes. Interior: clear coat plus 10 stains. No split or two-tone aluminum (wood interior, aluminum exterior by design).
    Source: Kolbe Ultra gas strut awning page · Kolbe Ultra Series page

  • Performance: no gas strut-specific design pressure, energy (NFRC) or impact data published. Kolbe's rating tool lists Ultra awning rows, but none are labeled gas strut and their sizes do not match, so they are not used here.
    Source: Kolbe Ultra gas strut awning page

  • Warranty: Express Limited Warranty covers Ultra Series: 10 years general from shipment; insulated glass 20 years up to 60 sq ft; finish 20 to 30 years depending on coating; wood 20 years against decay and termites; hardware 10 years; screens 2 to 5 years; labor not covered; custom units outside standard specifications "AS IS"; transferable.
    Source: Kolbe warranties page

  • Documents: care & maintenance documents, terms of sale and terms of purchase (title and risk of loss; ship dates are estimates). A July 2026 supplementary installation instruction for the gas strut awning requires the screw-through-frame method; the nailing fin alone "is not an adequate installation method". The product page links horizontal and vertical section drawings. No glass guide or FAQ found.
    Source: Kolbe care & maintenance page · Kolbe terms of sale · Kolbe warranties page · Kolbe gas strut awning installation PDF

  • Lead time and pricing not published. Made to order in Wisconsin (Wausau, Manawa) with a plant in Phoenix, Arizona. Sold only through authorized Kolbe dealers and galleries. Virtual showroom is a visual tour, not a configurator.
    Source: Kolbe terms of sale · Kolbe our story page · Kolbe where to buy page · Kolbe virtual showroom

 

 

Sources and research log

 

How this information was collected: on October 22, 2026, between 5:13 pm and 5:30 pm Pacific time, Optvue read each company's own public website. Each page was opened and read with the Firecrawl web page reader. Before marking anything "Not found", the company's website was also searched for it (a site search limited to that company's domain). No third-party reviews, forums or retailer sites were used. Pages we could not read, or that turned out not to apply, are listed separately below.

 

Second check: between 5:48 pm and 6:02 pm Pacific the same day, every page was read again live (Firecrawl with caching turned off), each fact was re-confirmed against the current page, and every "Not found" was searched again on the company's website. Where a company had changed or added information, this page was updated and the new source is linked. Optvue keeps saved, dated copies of every page and document listed below.

 

For an independent record, each page is also matched to its closest snapshot in the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine (web.archive.org), a free public archive that saves dated copies of web pages. A snapshot shows the page as it looked on the snapshot date, which may be earlier than our check. Where no snapshot is listed, the Wayback Machine had no saved copy of that page.

 

 

Optvue: sources

 

 

 

ActivWall: sources

 

  • ActivWall gas strut window page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:13 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Product lines, manual operation, 90° opening, maximum sizes, frames, glass and impact claim, sills, third-party screens, 3 standard colors, dual-tone finish. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • ActivWall Express Series page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: 9 Express Series sizes, sill height add, Express glass, Express colors, 4 to 7 week lead time. Wayback Machine snapshot: July 15, 2026

  • ActivWall products page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:18 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Sill list incl. U-channel and low profile, frame systems, finishes. Wayback Machine snapshot: July 15, 2026

  • ActivWall 10-year warranty PDF ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Residential warranty terms. Wayback Machine snapshot: May 20, 2026

  • ActivWall 2-year warranty PDF ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Commercial warranty terms. Wayback Machine snapshot: August 7, 2025

  • ActivWall resources page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Documents offered (folding-wall care and install documents; none for the gas strut window). Wayback Machine snapshot: July 15, 2026

  • ActivWall coastal & poolside PDF ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:18 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: General coastal finish care. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • ActivWall AL62 product data PDF ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:17 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Folding-wall install and test-report wording (not the gas strut window). Wayback Machine snapshot: May 20, 2026

  • ActivWall about page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Made in Martinsville, Virginia; "we ship nationwide". Wayback Machine snapshot: July 15, 2026

  • ActivWall ready-to-ship page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:15 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Ready-to-ship stock units. Wayback Machine snapshot: July 15, 2026

  • ActivWall quote page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:15 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Quote form, dealer network, direct sale if no dealer. Wayback Machine snapshot: July 15, 2026

  • ActivWall find-a-dealer page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:15 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Dealer list. Wayback Machine snapshot: July 15, 2026

  • ActivWall Express sill section PDF ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:13 pm PT. Found by: link found on the company's own page (listed, not opened). Used for: Express sill cross-section drawing (only drawing found). Wayback Machine snapshot: January 24, 2025

  • ActivWall customer story (Clarksburg, MD) ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:16 pm PT. Found by: site search of activwall.com (search excerpt). Used for: Customer says pricing and drawings came from ActivWall staff. Wayback Machine snapshot: March 13, 2026

 

 

Gravity Windows: sources

 

  • Gravity strut window page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:13 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Manual or automatic operation, 35 sq ft manual guide, 10' x 6' size (and 7' in FAQ), custom only, Cardinal glass and triple pane, no-track countertop, pull-down screens, nationwide delivery claim. Wayback Machine snapshot: June 14, 2026

  • Gravity aluminum awning page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:13 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: "Thermally enhanced" aluminum, color tiers shown as images. Wayback Machine snapshot: May 18, 2026

  • Gravity clad awning page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Aluminum-clad wood (wood inside, aluminum outside). Wayback Machine snapshot: June 14, 2026

  • Gravity wood awning page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Wood frames and species. Wayback Machine snapshot: May 18, 2026

  • Gravity steel awning page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Steel frames. Wayback Machine snapshot: June 14, 2026

  • Gravity residential windows page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:16 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: 10' x 7' size statement; lifetime spring wording. Wayback Machine snapshot: May 18, 2026

  • Gravity commercial windows page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:16 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Gas springs "built to lift… for a lifetime" (no warranty document); stainless springs. Wayback Machine snapshot: May 18, 2026

  • Gravity blog: gas spring struts ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:17 pm PT. Found by: site search of the company's website, then Firecrawl page read. Used for: "No-Sill option". Wayback Machine snapshot: March 17, 2026

  • Gravity quote page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Quote form; information may be shared with dealers. Wayback Machine snapshot: June 14, 2026

  • Gravity contact page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Contact details; no manufacturing location. Wayback Machine snapshot: March 17, 2026

  • Gravity Orange County page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:16 pm PT. Found by: site search of the company's website, then Firecrawl page read. Used for: "Motorized lift arms". Wayback Machine snapshot: April 12, 2026

 

 

Western Architectural Openings (formerly Western Window Systems): sources

 

  • Western 7665 pass-through awning page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:15 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Gas strut operation, widths 24"-96" or heights 36"-60", triple-pane option, colors, dealer-only buying. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • Western 7665 data sheet (2024; this link now returns "Page not found") ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: 90° hold-open, thermally broken frame, threshold options, LC-PG25 rating, U-factor 0.40. Live recheck at 5:50 pm: the link now returns a "Page not found" page; an Internet Archive copy dated March 20, 2025 is saved.. Wayback Machine snapshot: March 20, 2025

  • Western warranty page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:15 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: 10-year limited warranty, original owner only; Glass Guide documents listed. Wayback Machine snapshot: July 10, 2026

  • Western care & maintenance page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:16 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Care & Maintenance guide and care policy PDFs. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • Western 7665 install guide ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:17 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: 7665 installation guide; mentions insect screens. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • Western install guide (Spanish) ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:16 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Spanish installation guide. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • Western handling & storage document ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:15 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Handling and storage recommendations (no freight or receiving terms). Wayback Machine snapshot: August 26, 2026

  • Western 7665 technical resources ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:15 pm PT. Found by: link found on the company's own page (listed, not opened). Used for: CAD details for the 7665. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • Western design options page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:16 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: 2 anodized + 10 designer paint colors + custom; no split finish. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • Western FAQs page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:16 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Dealer locator; no split finish. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • Western about page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:16 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Name change from Western Window Systems; "domestic manufacturing". No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • Western quoting registration page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:17 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Custom quoting registration form only. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • Western 7665 data sheet (current, 2026) ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:56 pm PT. Found by: site search of westernao.com during the live recheck, then Firecrawl page read. Used for: Current 7665 data sheet: 90° hold-open struts, equal-leg frame with no sill, split finishes, LC-PG25, U-factor 0.40. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

 

 

AGA Doors: sources

 

  • AGA gas strut windows (standard sizes) ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: 21 standard sizes with prices. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • AGA custom gas strut window page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Custom 36"-120" x 28"-60", 90° open, no sill by default, black/white colors, laminated glass option, online priced builder. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • AGA 36 x 36 gas strut window page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Glass, manual retractable screen option, U-factor and SHGC. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • AGA warranty page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: 5-year residential / 2-year commercial warranty policy. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • AGA FAQ page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: "Aluminum profile: fifteen years"; custom color statement. Wayback Machine snapshot: August 23, 2025

  • AGA shipping & delivery policy ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: 24-48 hour in-stock shipping, 10-12 week custom, transit times. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • AGA gas strut spec sheet PDF ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:17 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: 1-page section drawing; profile dimensions. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • AGA installation manual PDF ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:17 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: 3-page installation manual. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • AGA return & refund policy ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:16 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Custom orders non-refundable, restocking fee. Wayback Machine snapshot: August 23, 2025

  • AGA screen installation PDF ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:54 pm PT. Found by: link on AGA's gas strut product pages, Firecrawl page read during the live recheck. Used for: Describes a motorized windproof roller blind with remote control, and a fabric shade. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

 

 

Kolbe Windows & Doors: sources

 

  • Kolbe Ultra gas strut awning page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:15 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Up to 96" x 54", 29.25 sq ft; wood interior, aluminum exterior; species; double pane shown; 44 exterior colors; 10 stains; manual gas strut. Wayback Machine snapshot: September 23, 2026

  • Kolbe gas strut press release (July 6, 2026) ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Product launch; "available with or without a sill". Wayback Machine snapshot: September 23, 2026

  • Kolbe pass-through windows page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:14 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Pass-through product types; sill option. Wayback Machine snapshot: September 28, 2026

  • Kolbe Ultra Series page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:15 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: "Over 50 standard colors or finishes" claim. Wayback Machine snapshot: September 23, 2026

  • Kolbe warranties page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:18 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Express Limited Warranty (10 years general). Wayback Machine snapshot: September 23, 2026

  • Kolbe care & maintenance page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:22 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Care documents. Wayback Machine snapshot: September 23, 2026

  • Kolbe terms of sale ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:22 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Ship dates are estimates; title and risk of loss. Wayback Machine snapshot: October 8, 2026

  • Kolbe our story page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:27 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Made to order in Wisconsin; Arizona plant. Wayback Machine snapshot: September 23, 2026

  • Kolbe where to buy page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:29 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Dealers and galleries only. Wayback Machine snapshot: September 28, 2026

  • Kolbe virtual showroom ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:22 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Visual tour only, no configurator. Wayback Machine snapshot: September 23, 2026

  • Kolbe glass page ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:26 pm PT. Found by: Firecrawl page read. Used for: Site-wide glass options incl. triple pane. Wayback Machine snapshot: September 23, 2026

  • Kolbe July 2026 "New Gas Strut Awning" update ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:52 pm PT. Found by: site search of kolbewindows.com during the live recheck, then Firecrawl page read. Used for: Size table: 31 size combinations, 48"-96" wide by 36"-54" high. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

  • Kolbe gas strut awning installation PDF ↗
    Read October 22, 2026, 5:52 pm PT. Found by: site search of kolbewindows.com during the live recheck, then Firecrawl page read. Used for: Supplementary installation instruction (July 2026): screw-through-frame install required; nailing fin is not an adequate attachment by itself. No Wayback Machine snapshot found.

 

 

Pages checked but not used, or that could not be read

 

  • westernwindow.com (unrelated company) (Western Architectural Openings (formerly Western Window Systems))
    Checked October 22, 2026, 5:13 pm PT. Belongs to Western Window Service, a parts and repair shop in Ohio; not Western Window Systems. Not used.

  • westernwindowsystems.com (Western Architectural Openings (formerly Western Window Systems))
    Checked October 22, 2026, 5:13 pm PT. Redirects to westernao.com (company renamed Western Architectural Openings, July 2026).

  • Western 7660 awning page (Western Architectural Openings (formerly Western Window Systems))
    Checked October 22, 2026, 5:15 pm PT. Standard scissor-arm awning, not a pass-through window. Not used.

  • Western product data sheet viewer (Western Architectural Openings (formerly Western Window Systems))
    Checked October 22, 2026, 5:15 pm PT. PDF viewer could not be read; the 2024 7665 data sheet was used instead.

  • AGA about page (AGA Doors)
    Checked October 22, 2026, 5:16 pm PT. Could not be read; manufacturing location left as not published.

  • AGA terms and conditions (AGA Doors)
    Checked October 22, 2026, 5:16 pm PT. Website terms of use only, no sales terms.

  • Kolbe Performance Class & Grade tool (Kolbe Windows & Doors)
    Checked October 22, 2026, 5:22 pm PT. No row labeled gas strut; ratings not attributed to the gas strut awning.

  • Kolbe energy performance tool (Kolbe Windows & Doors)
    Checked October 22, 2026, 5:23 pm PT. Loads data dynamically; no rows returned.

  • Kolbe installation instructions library (Kolbe Windows & Doors)
    Checked October 22, 2026, 5:22 pm PT. List did not load; no gas strut instruction found.

  • Kolbe architect library (Kolbe Windows & Doors)
    Checked October 22, 2026, 5:24 pm PT. Gas strut filter did not apply; no gas strut drawing confirmed.

  • Gravity home and about pages (Gravity Windows)
    Checked October 22, 2026, 5:13 pm PT. Company background; no manufacturing location, warranty or lead time.

  • Gravity dealer page (Gravity Windows)
    Checked October 22, 2026, 5:17 pm PT. Dealer application and private dealer login.

 

ActivWall, Gravity Windows, Western Architectural Openings, Western Window Systems, AGA Doors and Kolbe are trademarks of their respective owners. They are named here only to identify their products. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of them. Information is summarized from their public websites as of the date above and may have changed; check each company's website for current details.

 

 

 

Design your window now

 

Build your gas strut, motorized or pivot window in the LiveVue™ Window Designer, generate your own shop drawings, or request a quote. Questions? Call (760) 760-0110 or email info@optvue.com.

 

bottom of page